About Kollontaï


 

Kollontai Gabrielle Tousignant

Our team’s commitment

For the last 20 years, Kollontaï has been keeping high quality standards that begins with our initial choice of fabrics and ends only once the clothing is ready to be sent off to our various clients. Each steps, including the initial selection of raw materials up to the finishing touches, all include their own evaluation process that insures the absolute quality of our creations. It is all that devotion to the details that obtains us the quality level that we aimed for and, also, that insures the durability that has made our reputation for the last two decades. All of this is possible due to our proximity to our production, giving us the opportunity to keep a follow-up in real time.

The story

Endowed with a strong artistic sense, Gabrielle completed fashion design studies in 1995, and then travelled to Europe and Morocco where she visited museums, fashion schools and workshops. When she returned to Montreal, she began working on her own collections. By 1998, three independent stores in Quebec were distributing her creations. Today, they are available almost everywhere in Canada. 

Inspirations

Textured and colored materials are harmonized on unique garment cuts, carefully studied and elaborated by Gabrielle, whose expert eye and love for feminine forms have shaped Kollontaï’s designs. The raw materials are in themselves a strong source of inspiration. Gabrielle’s inspiration may also manifest itself in countless other ways: when she is listening to music, travelling, looking at a painting or graffiti on the wall… 

Why Kollontaï ?

Alexandra Kollontaï is a Russian political figure and feminist who contributed to the creation of International Women’s Day on March 8th, representing the female textile workers in Saint Petersburg. The first woman in history to be both a member of the government and an ambassadress in a foreign country, she fought for the advancement of women’s social rights. Kollontaï is also a promise of an ethical choice as all of our products are made in our Montreal offices, offering a safe environment for our team. This has been the brand priority since its beginning in 1998 and keeping our production locally made is still a very essential value to our brand.

À propos de Kollontaï


 

Kollontai Gabrielle Tousignant

L'engagement de notre équipe

Kollontaï maintient depuis plus de 20 ans des standards de qualité élevés qui commencent dès le choix de nos tissus jusqu’à l’envoi vers nos différents clients. Chaque étape, de l’achat des matières premières en passant par la gradation, la coupe et la fabrication jusqu’à la finition, inclue son propre processus d’évaluation pour assurer la qualité absolue de nos créations. C’est aussi toute cette dévotion à la qualité de nos vêtements qui en assurent la durabilité et fait notre réputation depuis plus de deux décennies. Tout cela est possible grâce à la proximité de notre production, nous permettant un suivi en tout temps.

L'historique

Dotée d’une forte fibre artistique, Gabrielle termine une formation en dessin de mode en 1995, puis part en Europe et au Maroc ou elle visite musées, écoles de mode et ateliers. Dès son retour au Québec, elle commence à travailler sur ses créations. En 1998, trois boutiques au Québec vendent les vêtements Kollontaï. Aujourd’hui, ils sont disponibles partout au Canada dans plus de 350 boutiques.

Les inspirations

Le design des vêtements Kollontaï passe par l’harmonisation des matières texturées et colorées sur des coupes uniques et étudiées, élaborées par l’œil amoureux de la silhouette féminine de Gabrielle. Outre la matière brute qui est en elle-même une forte source d’inspiration, Gabrielle cueille ses inspirations comme elles se manifestent, tantôt à l’écoute d’une musique, tantôt lors d’un voyage ou encore en regardant une toile, un graffiti… Les vêtements Kollontaï sont intemporels et durables.  

Pourquoi Kollontaï ?

Femme politique et féministe russe, Alexandra Kollontaï contribua à la création de la Journée internationale des droits de la femme le 8 mars. Elle représenta les ouvrières du textile de Saint-Petersbourg. Première femme de l’Histoire membre d’un gouvernement, elle lutta pour l’avancement des droits sociaux des femmes. Kollontaï est aussi un gage d’éthique alors que tous nos vêtements sont fabriqués à Montréal, dans nos locaux, offrant ainsi un milieu de travail sain pour tous nos employé (es). Il s’agit d’une priorité de l’entreprise depuis sa fondation en 1998 et maintenir la production locale pour l’ensemble de nos collections demeure à ce jour une valeur primordiale pour l’entreprise.